Kitchen Benches – Part I

30 Jul

We have a very small kitchen in a very small duplex. The only complaint we have is the lack of storage in the kitchen  – we decided to create our own and hopefully be able to host 4 people comfortably at our table. Nate and I started to dream about how to do this. Should we make a cabinet, benches, or boxes? There are so many ideas and not a lot of space.

In the end we went with the benches. The house I grew up in had benches in the kitchen with TONS of storage underneath. I loved those benches, they where comfortable and when I ate at them I felt like I a roman goddess getting to eat while reclined. Which is probably why Mom & Dad always ended up sitting on the benches before us kids could.

Here is where we are going to put the benches:

All of the wood pictured here we got for free from Nate’s employment: (holler!)

I spent this past Friday staining about half of that including the 100 1×2 slats….

The Habitat for Humanity ReStore has a great selection of stains and paints, so for $2 I got this sweet “Golden Oak” stain. I like it a lot!

And on Saturday, after drilling, sanding, staining, and checking measurements for hours all we got was this little preview:

But I love it already. Its going to be awesome to have storage and seating for more than just two! 🙂

2 Responses to “Kitchen Benches – Part I”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kitchen Benches – Part II- Cushions | DIY, Food, & Finds - August 5, 2011

    […] out Part I to see the progress we made last […]

  2. Crossing the Finish Line: Benches Done! « DIY, Food, & Finds - October 31, 2011

    […] See the process in my previous posts Here, Here, and Here! (Yes it has taken awhile!) Advertisement Eco World Content From Across The […]

Leave a Reply

