Kitchen Benches – Part II- Cushions

5 Aug

This past week was piping week for the cushions. I  was not feeling very motivated to sew this weekend so I only got the piping on one and half cushions. The rest will have to wait until later.

Luckily, the day before I started to do this, one of favorite bloggers had a post about how to do piping. Check out Pretty Handy Girl’s instructions here!

First I had to cut 52.6 feet of fabric in two inch wide strips (What a bunch of fabric!)

Then  it was time to sew. I did not pin, I simply put the robe on the floor and the strip on my lap and fed the sewing machine using my hands and folding the strips around the rope. It looks great!

And then I pinned it to the top of the cushion fabric.

And then sew it back up, and I was done.

This was  my second piping experience, and its not perfect. But the last project took a lot longer to figure out and has many more mistakes, but it looks great!  Our last project was re-upholstering our couch from the Goodwill. Upholstering has a steep learning curve! 🙂

The next step is finishing the cushions and finish putting the benches together!

Check out Part I to see the progress we made last week!

3 Responses to “Kitchen Benches – Part II- Cushions”

  1. Brittany (aka Pretty Handy Girl) August 5, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Mindy, I love the color fabric you picked out for your cushions. And I think your piping turned out great! Thanks for linking to my blog. Best of luck on the rest of the cushion process. I know you’ll be thrilled when you finish and accomplished it yourself.

    Brittany

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Page not found | DIY, Food, & Finds - September 8, 2011

    […] Kitchen Benches – Part II- Cushions […]

  2. Crossing the Finish Line: Benches Done! « DIY, Food, & Finds - October 31, 2011

    […] See the process in my previous posts Here, Here, and Here! (Yes it has taken awhile!) Advertisement Eco World Content From Across The Internet. […]

Leave a Reply

