Birthday Presents!

19 Sep

Ever since I have lived on my own, I have been trying to hand make most presents. I tell everyone its because I do it out of love, and yes this is true- but it is also because it ends up being WAY cheaper than buying the same thing. And it ends up being unique (and full of love).

Yesterday was my sister’s 22nd Birthday (Happy B-day Meg!).  I really wanted to make her something that she would use and enjoy (and something easy to mail).

One project I have been wanting to make for a while was a reverse applique t-shirt ( I first saw it here at Sweet Verbena). I knew Megan would love it , so I went to work. Following the instructions on the blog, I ended up with this version:

This was a fun and quick project. And I think it looks wonderful.

Here is the total cost of the project (don’t look, Megan!):

  • T-shirt from Forever 21: $5.60
  • 1 yard of Fabric (from Hancock): $3.95
  • Fusible Interfacing (from remnants pile): $1.00

TOTAL COST: $10.95

And I had so much Fabric left over, I decided to make a Part II gift. Megan just moved into an apartment and is now cooking for her self, and what does every cooking student need? An Apron. So I went to work using the rest of the fabric from this project and a little bit from a previous project. I ended up with a pretty chic reversible apron with a pocket!

And on top of this, this apron was free to make since I had everything I needed!

Two unique gifts for $10.95. Oh YEAH!

Here is the tutorial on how to make this apron.  Hope you liked the gift Megan! 🙂

4 Responses to “Birthday Presents!”

  1. Megan September 19, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Very nicely done Min. It was a very practical gift and I got to use the apron all day yesterday!! thanks!!

    • Mindy September 19, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

      Yay! So Glad you liked it love! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. VT Fleece Throw | DIY, Food, & Finds - September 26, 2011

    […] Then sew on the the pattern and cut away fabric (using same method I used for the shirt in this post). I used the VT exactly where the stain was, so I eneded up cutting that […]

  2. Apron Inspiration « DIY, Food, & Finds - October 27, 2011

    […] to cook and host in! I know that I have been making a few aprons for other people (see here and here), but I have yet made one for myself! […]

Leave a Reply

