VT Fleece Throw

26 Sep

Over the weekend while I was at my local craft store, I came across the clearance fabric table. And there on the top was this beauty:

Yes, that is right,  Pink Virginia Tech Fleece on the sale rack (living in Tennessee does has its perks). I of course snatched a yard and a half up for $5 (usually $19.99 a yard).  Hey-o savings!

Instead of spending money on another piece of fleece, I wanted something classy and inexpensive. So I brought it home and looked at my spare fabric, nothing matched. But then I remembered a table cloth that had a stain in the middle of it that I never use. That is what became the back. Here are the steps that I took to make this amazing throw:

1. Place table cloth on fleece and cut to desired size (the table cloth was an oval – so I made the throw have rounded edges).

2. Then cut out in a contract fabric and apply interfacing. Trace Pattern.

3. Then sew on the the pattern and cut away fabric (using same method I used for the shirt in this post).

I used the VT exactly where the stain was, so I eneded up cutting that away.

4.  Sew fabric and fleece together along edges, leaving 5in open at bottom to turn inside-out.

5.  Turn inside out. Slip stitch the opening closed. AND DONE!

And it is perfect for watching the game on cold days or just using it while reading. Its great!

Hokies have a big game this weeks against Clemson. Let Go…. HOKIES!

Leave a Reply

