Going Gluten Free

28 Oct

For a while now I have had psoriasis (an autoimmune disease, not contagious – read the literature!). A condition where my skin over produces cells creating “flakes” on some areas of my body. Over the past year, I also have developed Psoriasis Arthritis, common in 70% of people with psoriasis. Arthritis makes everyday hard, even getting out of bed to walking. This is something I have had now for ten years.

Recently there have been studies showing positive results between eating a gluten free diet and the condition of autoimmune disease.Β  So I am going to bite the bullet – the gluten free bread – and attempt to try going gluten free. This won’t be an easy task for a bread-pasta-and-all-things-wheat-lover like me. But if it will clear up my psoriasis and help my joint pain, I am willing to give it a try. Starting November 1st, 2011 until January 1st, 2012. (If it works then I’ll do it longer!).

To motivate myself and encourage others who are eating gluten free or wondering about trying it, I am starting a Gluten Free Fridays here on my blog. A place to share amazing recipes that are gluten free, and warn others what not to try. πŸ™‚

Join me next week as I attempt this Gluten Free diet for the next two months!

Today was spent getting rid of all my beloved gluten – goodbye pasta, flour, cake mix and crackers (and tomato soup!)!

 

6 Responses to “Going Gluten Free”

  1. Sleepinghorse October 28, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Good luck. Going gluten free is not the most fun thing in the world but it is definitely worth a try.

  2. Kelsey October 28, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Get it Girl! So proud of you and you’ve created your own accountability right here! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!! Will be watching for your gluten free Fridays. πŸ™‚

  3. Jessica @ Two Shades of Pink October 29, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    I am so tempted to do this too. my neighbor across the street has rheumatoid arthritis and when he went gluten free…he was healed. For real! I attribute this to him believing Jesus for it too but still…the diet literally removed his pain. I know he cheats and when he does…it comes back. The whole thing fascinates me. I also have another friend who has been gluten free for 2 years and when she has it again…she is literally SICK IN BED for two days. I am just astounded by that. She also went organic too and both her kids don’t take their asthma medicine anymore. I wrote all this to encourage you…so exciting! πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to find out what happens next for you!

    Love,
    Jess

  4. Sydni October 29, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Good luck Mindy! That would be hard but it sounds like it will really benefit you!

  5. Mindy October 31, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Thank you for all your encouragement!!! Tomorrow is the day! Thanks to you guys, I think I can do it! πŸ™‚

  6. Wilma November 4, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    I’m so proud of you. How’s it going? Aunt Kim and Uncle Peter P. are doing vegan – treating themselves now and then by going out for some food they really miss. Her rosacea is much better and they have both lost weight. I’ll be watching. Love you! Nonny

Leave a Reply

